It’s a rainy day and I can’t go out to play

I should have played yesterday. Instead, I made applesauce. I really wasn’t in the mood, but I GOT IT DONE! I should probably say what I have been playing. The first one is from an opera called ‘Lakme’ by Delibes. It is the ‘Flower Duet’. The second one is ‘Papagena’ from ‘The Magic Flute’. don’t you love the French captions while they are singing in German!! The last one is ‘Sweet Honey in the Rock.” Stay tuned for more ‘Adventures in Music”. Melinda has discovered Youtube!

Every now and then I get an email slamming a particular talk show host and I am going to use my space here to respond to it. Usually these are few and far between. I used to think that talk shows were for people who never took Latin, that is to say, there was no rhyme or reason. Definitely not reason. People came on to air out whatever they had in their heads, but not to put anything they hadn’t thought of themselves in them, i.e. listening to another party with a different perspective. When Luisa was a junior in HS, we started watching ‘Oprah’ when we were sick. When she was a senior, we watched when we got home from school. alas, now I watch alone. I am not going to claim anything concerning her spiritual state, but just say what I like about her. Now I got her in her 50’s. Maybe she did things differently when she was in her 30’s. I like the way she treats people, even when they have done something really stupid, or when they have suffered much. I like her willingness to take on difficult subjects and say what’s going on all over the place, including our own homes and neighborhoods. She often qualifies having those particular guests on her show as representatives of what’s going on in the world. I loved it when she and her friend traveled from California to NYC in a car and filmed it extemporaneously for all of us to see! I like what she does with her money, and she often includes the giving of others with her own gift, so she is not getting all the credit herself. I learn about other people like Mohammed Yunus and Elie Wiesel. A couple Fridays ago she called Il Divo and asked if they would come sing Amazing Grace on her show that day. They were at an airport, but they changed their tickets to Chicago and came and sang! One of my favorite quotes is her telling about when she was a child there were hardly any trees in the neighborhood and she vowed when she grew up, she was going to have trees. She said every morning she looks out and sees 2,000 trees in her yard and she thinks about the grace of God.  If I don’t want to watch shows about the ‘gods and goddesses’, I am at perfect liberty to skip it, and I usually do.

Pax vobiscum

3 thoughts on “It’s a rainy day and I can’t go out to play

  1. I like Oprah because she reminds sooo much of my very good friend from college, Fer…she likes Oprah,too. I am bummed that I missed Il Divo!! I would love to hear them sing Amazing Grace. Can’t wait for Thanksgiving.

  2. As I never watch Oprah I missed Il Divo but was happy to get their new C.D. yesterday. Anxiously waiting for the DVD. As for Oprah I just simply got tired of her.

Leave a Reply

