Christmas Cap

<!– @page { size: 8.5in 11in; margin: 0.79in } P { margin-bottom: 0.08in } –>

<!– @page { size: 8.5in 11in; margin: 0.79in } P { margin-bottom: 0.08in } –>

<!– @page { size: 8.5in 11in; margin: 0.79in } P { margin-bottom: 0.08in } –>

t’s been so long since I have written that WordPress has forgotten who I am!! So here goes…

Last Saturday we squeezed in a trip to Longwood Gardens. I have a ‘new’ camera in tow, which I am still learning how to use and still need a memory card for, but I am clicking away again! The lights were, of course, awesome, and the smell of warm soil in the greenhouses you can tour always makes us feel ‘at home’.

p10100071

<!– @page { size: 8.5in 11in; margin: 0.79in } P { margin-bottom: 0.08in } –>

It was a little chilly and there were more people than have been there the same time as me in a very long time, all wandering around in the dark! We checked out the Conservatory , listened to a little organ concert, the first I have heard since before we moved to Iowa, they have been doing some renovations. Then we went to the restaurant and had a bite to eat. The highlight of the evening was a skating exhibition done by the chimes tower. If you have ever been, there is a pond at the foot of the waterfall that comes from the ‘eye of water’. They set up bleachers there to see the show, which lasted about 20 minutes or so. Just before it started Emily, Jonathan and Jacob popped in right behind us!

p10100112


After the show we did the Conservatory again, with considerably less crowd. There were several small trees that elementary students had made thematic decorations for … inspiring! Someday I am not going to get the C-decorations out and just have fun with what is at hand!

p1010013

I made several wreaths this year using willow twigs for a base. I don’t have grapevines anymore, but I thought the willow ought to do the trick. It was really easy to work with and the base is a nice bright yellow, so you don’t feel like you have to cover it all up.

This week I got to go to the trade show in Baltimore with Joel. We had a lovely hotel troom downtown with a bed that went “kapooosh!” when you laid on it, but not saggy soft! I got in a swim for the first time in ages. I had the pool and the hot tub all to myself! I knew there was a B&N down town that could keep me from boredom, but I was reading The Shack, which a novel about someone dealing with pain, grief, and God, to put it in a few short words. I foud it extremely interesting and not a word skipper. I told Joel I felt like I need to read it over again. He said he felt the same way. I made sure Joel and his co-worker got lunch and drinks when they needed them and wandered about the show room floor looking for interesting things to see and relatives to visit! We had supper at a favorite place on the Inner Harbor with some friends and then drove home. I got up Friday and headed to school to substitute for 3rd grade. That class and I are getting to know each other. I had made them some refrigerator sweet rolls, which tasted really good after reading and discussing The Little Red Hen. I didn’t even know I was going to! Plus I got in a really great discussion with my ancient languages friend over ‘Veni, Veni, Emmanuel’ and French literature. He was showing ‘Phantom of the Opera’ to his senior worldviews class. I am sorry I can’t repeat the whole conversation, but ‘Phantom’ and Les Mis..’ are in a series of 4 French stories that have a Christian worldview expressed with excessiveness…. I think. Then when I got home, Jeannette had brought Luisa home again and Ellis and I did this 100piece puzzle together for the second time. He amazes me with his speed of seeing  how something is going to fit and gets it in there. Every now and then I have to help him, but he can get right in there and stick with it till he figures it out.

<!– @page { size: 8.5in 11in; margin: 0.79in } P { margin-bottom: 0.08in } –>

After the show we did the Conservatory again, with considerably less crowd. There were several small trees that elementary students had made thematic decorations for … inspiring! Someday I am not going to get the C-decorations out and just have fun with what is at hand!

I made several wreaths this year using willow twigs for a base. I don’t have grapevines anymore, but I thought the willow ought to do the trick. It was really easy to work with and the base is a nice bright yellow, so you don’t feel like you have to cover it all up.

This week I got to go to the trade show in Baltimore with Joel. We had a lovely hotel troom downtown with a bed that went “kapooosh!” when you laid on it, but not saggy soft! I got in a swim for the first time in ages. I had the pool and the hot tub all to myself! I knew there was a B&N down town that could keep me from boredom, but I was reading The Shack, which a novel about someone dealing with pain, grief, and God, to put it in a few short words. I foud it extremely interesting and not a word skipper. I told Joel I felt like I need to read it over again. He said he felt the same way. I made sure Joel and his co-worker got lunch and drinks when they needed them and wandered about the show room floor looking for interesting things to see and relatives to visit! We had supper at a favorite place on the Inner Harbor with some friends and then drove home. I got up Friday and headed to school to substitute for 3rd grade. That class and I are getting to know each other. I had made them some refrigerator sweet rolls, which tasted really good after reading and discussing The Little Red Hen. I didn’t even know I was going to! Plus I got in a really great discussion with my ancient languages friend over ‘Veni, Veni, Emmanuel’ and French literature. He was showing ‘Phantom of the Opera’ to his senior worldviews class. I am sorry I can’t repeat the whole conversation, but ‘Phantom’ and Les Mis..’ are in a series of 4 French stories that have a Christian worldview expressed with excessiveness…. I think. Then when I got home, Jeannette had brought Luisa home again and Ellis and I did this 100 piece puzzle together for the second time. He amazes me with his speed of seeing how something is going to fit and gets it in there. Every now and then I have to help him, but he can get right in there and stick with it till he figures it out. This is the 3rd puzzle I have gotten him. The other two were 30 pieces.


p1010015

<!– @page { size: 8.5in 11in; margin: 0.79in } P { margin-bottom: 0.08in } –>

This morning it was back to the old newspaper delivery grind…..

And before I forget and you wonder why I haven’t told you, Our Nick is engaged to be married on January 30th…. to Nicky! She’s a neighbor of his, and she is a perfect fit for Nick. We like her a lot.

Well, I hope this blog is gratifingly informative and entertaining! I gettin’ tahrred…zzz

One thought on “Christmas Cap

Leave a Reply

