The Joys of Facebook, et al.

I think of a hundred things to blog about in a day and never have time to sir and write, That’s boloney! Of course, if I have time to read and eat, I have to write! Well, I was just thinking that even though Facebook can seem more like Face Crack and consume inordinate amounts of time and totally distract from the real tasks at hand (like blogging!) there is the thought that there are dear people that we almost never get to talk to that are on FB and we can somewhat keep up with their lives, as they can ours, where there was pretty much nothing before. So that is the Joy of FB to me at the moment. I also like to see people of various ages communicating via this medium.

Another item; Keeping track of things. Sometimes I think this consumes my life. It seems that if you watch things like a hawk, you can save ourself a bundle of trouble (like your Comcast bill). But all that time spent watching seems so drearisome. Someone might tell me I need an iPhone. I hate my cell phone bill. Don’t suggest it. And I am not going to put ALL my information on one thing so easily misplaced. Nota Bene. my  FB pleas for someone to call me so I can find my phone!!!! I have often made my grocery list and added up what I thought the items cost and usually I have pretty good estimate, and I am not spending outside the realm of the budget and we eat well. I often use a timer, since I have no sense of time. Where dd that timer go that was by the computer????

And then there is the shoveling of snow. I don’t know what people in the South do to socialize with their neighbors, but shoveling snow can catch us up on what is happening in the neighborhood. If we had a blower we wouldn’t be able to hear each other talk, so Yay! for shoveling. I hate it when strong young bucks walk past me and smash the snow down, making it harder to shovel. I told them to stay off, can you believe it! It was better than saying , “Get a shovel!”

And we went to the library’s used book store this week. I got some Dr. Suess, one of our favorite books called Bread and Honey , My MIL’s missing Jan Karon book and a biography of C.S. Lewis called The Narnian. I have my nose in that particular one. Then I went to the B&N and got my Audubon calendar book because Keeping Track of Things seems so much easier if you can look at beautiful photographs while you are at it. Don’t worry, Nick, I always get it half off, They ain’t makin’ no money on me, just clearing out.

And then I love enjoying a book over again. I have a book called Little House in the Ozarks by Laura Ingalls Wilder. They are articles that she wrote for local papers and magazines in Missouri and they are like reading a really good blog. So here is an excerpt of one article I read this morning.

“As the years passs I am coming more and more to understand that it is the common, everyday blessings of our common everyday lives for which we should be particularly grateful. They are the things that fill our lives with comfort and our hearts with gladness- just the pure air to breathe and the strength to breathe it; just warmth and shelter and home folks; just plain food that gives us strength; the bright sunshine on a cold day and a cool breeze when the day is warm. Oh, we have so much to be thankful for that we seldom think of it in that way. I wish we might think more about these things the we are so much inclined to over  look and live more in the spirit ot the old Scotch blessing.

“Some hae meat wha canna eat/ And some some can eat that lack it/ But I hae meat and I can eat/ And sae the laird be thankit.” Robert Burns, the Selkirk Grace

Happy New Year!

One thought on “The Joys of Facebook, et al.

  1. Not that I think you’re going to get one, but don’t get an iPhone. It would overwhelm you. The reason to get one is for apps, and you would get frustrated by them. Just sayin.

Leave a Reply

