Second Cup o’ Coffee

I usually have a second cup of coffee around 4p.m., but today I feel like it now!  At 12:24! I am back to blogging. Some times I read them myself and I think I remember my life better that way.

One Saturday morning  a couple months ago, Joel and I checked out a new hole-in-the wall place downtown and had the BEST pancakes ever! Even one-uppping my brother’s! They had oatmeal in them. It was a pretty cute little place and  everything was good. Mary is usually at my house a couple mornings a week  and so the next week I took her out for the best pancakes ever. That morning there were guy servers and maybe it”s the latest fashiopn to look like you haven’t showered in a week, but it’s not a great way to serve food. They looked like they had slept in their clothes and got up and went to work. Then when we had to remind him that Mary needed a cup with her tea, he argued with her and when we asked for an extra plate for the baby he said ti would be another dollar. Haven’t been back to that place BUT…. I found a really great oatmeal pancake recipe and maybe they are the best pancakes EVER.  So here’s the recipe for 6 pancakes:

1 cup oats, 1 c. buttermilk. Mix and let stand for 5 minutes then add 1 egg and 2 T oil and stir together. then add 1/4 c. flour, 1 tsp sugar, 1/2 tsp baking powder and soda and cinnamon. I also add blueberries to mine. I have used rolled oats , although the recipe calls for quick oats. These are thick pancakes. If you want yours thinner just add more milk. Yummy. Filling. I got it out of Taste of Home’s Healthy Cooking. It sayas 2 pancakes equal 274 calories. They put raisins in theirs and 1/4 c egg substitute, and a T of sugar!

That’s all for now. Monday is laundry day and I don’t want to be doing a few loads of laundry all day!!! I’ll be back.

Love, Melinda

2 thoughts on “Second Cup o’ Coffee

  1. Where did you guys go for breakfast…just curious?

    I made 2 new recipies…Parmesan #cake and Sour Cream Chocolate…the Parma was great…didn’t care for the Chocolate…in the freezer as Jordan and his friend will be here this week then they are off to Bosto where she lives and he will be staying with Kelli for the summer.

    Lou and I used to go to Valentino’s years ago for breakfast or lunch…was good then. J

Leave a Reply

