Flowers from Childhood

We went past , well no, we didn’t go past, we stopped at a stand at the market that sells summer cut flowers. Joel couldn’t pass the snapdragons. I often get them for him there because they invoke childhood memories of passing through labyrinths of tall snapdragon beds in the greenhouse, waiting to be cut and sold.  They have a ‘gingery’ fragrance. When Joel had seen the flowers in the vase, he said, “That’s just how I imagine them.” I replied that was because you made a big arrangement of them in a red vase for Grandmom’s 80th birthday. It has been a long time since I have seen the picture, but I think those were all red. It was stunning. Sometimes a mosaic of flowers is stunning, and yet, in a different way a solid color can be stunning. Sometimes the number of typos  I make before you see my blog is stunning! :>)

My mom used to let me get whatever seed packet of flowers I wanted and I probably never bothered to read the back. I just liked the flowers on the front. So for me it is the nasturtium. I was more like the girl in Robert Frost’s poem A Girl’s Garden where things happen in spite of the young gardener, rather than because of. Nasturtiums humor my sort of personality.

I like to line them up in small bottles in a row, and I have learned the best way to clean one of these dinky skinny-necked things is to use a kabob stick and a bit of wet paper towel. Takes less than a minute and all the greeny goo is out!

Oh, did you see marigolds??? Common as a weed practically, but they are a gardener’s friend. They bloom through thick and thin, drought and flood, heat or cold, they take it all on and keep showing their bright shiny faces. You can almost kill them and with a little care, they will come back and bloom away. I always have to  have a few marigolds. How does one kill a marigold? Leave them in a flat to fry for several days!

One thought on “Flowers from Childhood

  1. This Saturday when I was talking to mom she was telling me about Ron’s flowers and that he said they were nasturtiums. I told her, “They always make me think of Melinda because she always grew them.” Then I got home and read this! Ha! Guess we were thinking the same.

Leave a Reply

