That for which I am Thankful

On this Black Friday morning, I think I shall write about that for which I am thankful, since I haven’t done so yet! A lot of things come tumbling through my mind, some with more substance than others but for which I am thankful. So I won’t take up a lot of your time unless you choose to spend it. I am thankful for this ancient laptop sitting on my wooden desk  and I can see the sunrise while I write. There is a peace that comes to me in writing. Somehow I got into this thing of getting up early, totally inadvertently! I am thankful for my home and the warmth and peace others feel as they enter it. I am glad it is warm, for that was a struggle for a few winters! I am so thankful for my little teaching job and the ability to connect with 5 and 6 year olds, something I thought I could never do after years of teaching Latin! I am thankful for the beautiful walk I have every day to school. For my good, kind neighbors, for new friendships. For godly doctors.  For a good garden crop. We ate sweet potatoes and carrots from our garden in our Thanksgiving feast. For a church where we feel a family home feeling. For our new music director. For my music friends who encourage me. For healthy bodies. I have been in leaf ecstasy during these leaf changing months and I feel addicted to their beauty. Now I can see black, lacey branches against the sky and I do not tire of the beauty. That, I believe is a gift from God.  I have a little girl in Sunday School who hated music and singing. In church she would lie on the seats with her ears plugged and in Sunday School she would cross her arms and glower at me. I tolerated that for a while because I think the loud music hurt her ears. Then one Sunday I encouraged her to stand by me while we sang in Sunday School and lo and behold, I start hearing this little off-key voice singing right along. A couple Sundays ago I put on the DVD and there she is in the first row of kids doing all the motions and singing all the words. I am thankful  to have witnessed this miracle. I am thankful I can watch my grown children grow through their difficulties and grow their own children! I am multiply-ingly thankful for my husband who sticks with me through thick and thin and for all I have learned living with him. For his genius and hard work that keeps this household together. AND, most of all, I am thankful for Jesus, who, whether I had all these things or not, would still be my Savior. “Bless the Lord, O my soul, and all that is within me, bless his holy name…..who crowns you with lovingkindness and tender mercies.”

One thought on “That for which I am Thankful

  1. Just got around to reading this. It’s always so good to hear others be thankful & of course, follow suit. God’s blessings are abundant, aren’t they?! I can hear Andrae Crouch singing, “Bless the Lord…” & it fill me with joy. Thanks, Melinda, for being a writer and reminding us of the simple things & how important they are.

Leave a Reply

