Morning with Melinda

For a long time my brain has been cold. I’m not sure what’s makes it so, but characteristically, I think in the morning. That doesn’t mean I’m a morning person. It means that in that space of consciousness when I come out of sleep and before I throw the blankets back, I compose. If I think, “What am I going to do today?”, nothing comes to mind, even if I have it written down somewhere. But I think about things and then I think I need to Write. Well, its been about 2 hours since that happened, and I’m finally getting around to writing, having forgotten what I was thinking about! But I’ll make a stab at writing anyway.

Currently, I’m listening to Anthony Doerr’s Four Seasons in Rome. Its about a year he and his wife and infant twin sons lived in Rome. It is actually my first Anthony Doerr book and it is delightful. Also, Good Husbandry, a farm to table story by Kristin Kimball. I also listened to her previous one, This Dirty Life. It made me think hard about our years with our own greenhouse business, and the perspectives we missed that are learned the hard way. It encourages me to shop locally as much as possible and not complain about the prices of good food. I live in a good place for this, and I’m thankful. Its my second time through and Im enjoyingbit more without reliving my own trauma. Previously, I listened to The Yearling by Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings. Her prose is so picturesque you feel like you’re reading poetry. Some readers can read in such a way you picture each character as is and this was one and easily slipping in and out of the local Florida dialect where the story takes place. It is the story of a boy and his pet deer and a sort of coming of age story, for both the boy and the deer, but could be enjoyed by most any age, I’d think.

Now I’ve got such a stack of serious books waiting to be read, I am going to have to budget time to read them, while I am awake enough to do it! I have an alarm that goes off at 7:45am, so I don’t lose track of time. Unlike yesteryear, my mornings are quiet and I need the nudge.

Currently, Joel is remodeling one of our bedrooms. Hopefully, we will be able to move back into it this weekend. Yesterday he installed a new dishwasher for me. We’ve been several months without one, but the garden months will finish me off. And now that they are over, we will have it for next summer! (and currently)

Currently, there is a sweet baby boy getting bigger and sweeter every day too far away from me! I think I have to switch devices to post a picture.

Currently, this chair is too cozy! So off I go into the day. I wish I had a poem at my fingertips to leave with. Maybe that will come later as well. who knows? I’m going to clean my kitchen, putting my dishes into the dishwasher…..

Leave a comment